Discussion: View Thread

Invitation to join live PDW: A Grand Challenge No One Chose: Succeeding & Failing against the Covid Pandemic–A Global Perspective" (session 1113) Tuesday, 3 August 202 08:00 – 10:00 EDT (UTS – 4)

  • 1.  Invitation to join live PDW: A Grand Challenge No One Chose: Succeeding & Failing against the Covid Pandemic–A Global Perspective" (session 1113) Tuesday, 3 August 202 08:00 – 10:00 EDT (UTS – 4)

    Posted 07-19-2021 10:15

    Dear Colleagues,

    We invite you to join this live open session to take part in the discussion about global leadership lessons following Covid-19 pandemic across the world.


    Invitation to attend AOM PDW "A Grand Challenge No One Chose: Succeeding & Failing against the Covid Pandemic–A Global Perspective" (session 1113)

     

    Tuesday, 3 August 2021       08:00 – 10:00 EDT (UTS – 4)

    13:00 – 15:00  BST (London, UK)
    14:00 – 16:00 CEST (Berlin, Paris, Vienna)
    21:00 – 23:00 KST (Seoul)
    22:00 – 24:00 AEST (Sydney)

    Synchronous live open session:  https://2021.aom.org/meetings/virtual/L28i3pmfT9FkAzqpv

     

    Organisers:     Nancy Adler (McGill University, Canada) and Sonja Sackmann (U. Bundeswehr Munich, Germany)

     

    Panelists:   

    Christoph Barmeyer, (U. of Passau, Germany),
    Cordula Barzantny (Toulouse Business School, France),
    Dan Caprar (U. of Sydney, Australia),
    Christof Miska (WU Vienna U. of Economics and Business, Austria),
    Fiona Moore (U. of London, UK),
    Sun Hyun Park (Seoul National U., Republic of Korea)
    Anne-Marie Søderberg (Copenhagen Business School, Denmark)


    We wish to exchange about the following rationale:

    The current pandemic and its related economic meltdown and social unrest challenges many countries, their societies, institutions, organizations, and individuals. Focusing on both more and less successful country-specific initiatives to fight the pandemic, the workshop organizers, contributors and participants will explore implications for effective action at the individual, organizational and societal levels. A wide range of international / cross-cultural management scholars will document actions taken and their various consequences in several countries around the globe (Australia, Austria, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, New Zealand, South Korea, Sweden, Switzerland, UK, and USA). Informed by a cross-cultural lens, the panelists´ opening statements set the stage for a dialogue to explore such urgent questions as:

     

    • What is most important for leaders, scholars, and organizations to learn from dealing with critical, life-threatening, society-encompassing ongoing crises?
    • How do leaders build and maintain trust?
    • What kinds of communication have been most effective at various stages of the crisis? How can we accelerate learning processes for effective action?
    • How does cultural resilience emerge within a rapidly changing environment of fear, shifting cultural norms, and challenges to core identity?

     

    This dialogue and exploration of these issues will enable us to learn from each other and begin to discover novel and more successful approaches in tackling this grand challenge.

    Dear attendees,

     

    it will be helpful if you watched our asynchronous panel symposium on the same topic (A Grand Challenge No One Chose: Succeeding & Failing against the Covid Pandemic–A Global Perspective) prior to attending the PDW. The panel symposium will provide you with more detailed information for our PDW.

    A Grand Challenge No One Chose: Succeeding & Failing against the Covid Pandemic–A Global Perspective (session 1493),  video-recording available on demand on Thursday 29 August 2021, 12:00- (EDT),  17:00 BST,  18:00 CEST,  .

    https://2021.aom.org/meetings/virtual/KRrnqqYnoCffswjeh

     

     

    If you have any questions please email: Sonja Sackmann sonja.sackmann@unibw.de or Nancy Adler nancy.adler@mcgill.ca




    Cordula Barzantny
    Toulouse Business School
    c.barzantny@tbs-education.fr





    ------------------------------
    Cordula Barzantny
    Professor
    Toulouse Business School
    Toulouse Cedex 07
    +33 5 61 29 49 33
    ------------------------------